Quirky household items I want

DR and I were browsing kitchen ware and products at Tangs, after walking past the absurd, snaking queue for fried dough at the newly open Krispy Kreme. Similar to Krispy Kreme, there were a lot of products over there that were more of a “want” than a “need”.  Nespresso machines, honey syrup spoons, Le Creuset pots…. etc. I have always been a strong advocate for buying “need” products. On the other hand, I find some “want” products quirky, fascinating… and wouldn’t mind having them at our new place –  if only I can convince myself that they are worth it.

Presenting you the top 3 household items that I want:

1) Sodastream – It allows you to carbonate beverages (yes, if you want to carbonate milk, you can do so, though I doubt people like fizzy milk… *yucks*). We saw the demonstration by the sales lady and it was incredible. Without batteries and electricity, you get to fizz up your drink with a help of a carbonator (a slim, pressurised can of carbon dioxide). Each carbonator allows us to fizz up to 60 litres of water. When it finishes, you can buy refills either from Tangs or Taka.

Imagine a cooling, fizzy ribena or lemon tea or juice drinks, any time at home! Sparkling water every day, if you like!

2) Yonanas – Touting itself as a healthy dessert maker, this could be a must-have for many when one feels like having ice-cream on a humid day but don’t want the fats that come from the milk. Basically, what you do is freeze the fruits (works best with bananas and berries), place the frozen fruit in the small machine, pull the lever down and voila, frozen fruit soft serve – minus the fats!  I may get this for our new place. It is good for entertaining guests (:

3) Vintage tea cups – I will feel like a princess when I drink from vintage tea cups! Look at the picture below. Isn’t it lovely? Now it needs some hot scones and jam at the side.

Leave a comment