Singapore Flooding – the reason why

The rate that Singapore is flooding every time there is rain, I think sooner or later, we will end up like Venice – disappear in 38 years’ time.

Okay, I exaggerate.

But isn’t it interesting that it’s all the atas areas like Bukit Timah, Orchard, Thomson and Opera Estate that are flooding? I read today’s news that insurers are discussing the possibility of increasing the premiums of people buying general insurance for their properties in the aforementioned areas. My guess is God knows that the people living there can afford it if the insurance premiums do increase, that’s why these areas have the tendency to flood. Heh.

In my most humble opinion, I believe the flood is caused by extensive excavation in Singapore’s ground. At the rate we are digging underground for train tracks, I think we may have inevitably tarnished the underground pipes and drains.

One case in point is Bishan MRT station. Angie, Sihui, Sarah and I have always complained that every time the train bounded for Jurong East reaches Bishan station,  a strong stench of FART will hit us when the train doors open. Then people will unanimously cover their noses, thinking that their neighbour has farted, when in fact it is just the station smelling like fart.

It happens all the time when we are on the train and so we realise that it is definitely not someone farting. How can it be so coincidental that every time at Bishan station, someone will let out a fart right? Farts in crowded places do not occur so often. So, the conclusion is that Bishan station, at the Jurong East direction platform, smells like heaty fart!

One day, my sis, who is now an intern journalist at SPH became investigative. She told the passenger service officer at Bishan that she is a journalist and questioned them why the train platform (bound for Jurong East) always smell like FART. The officer explained that it is caused by construction and apparently, some pipes burst (which I think are sewage pipes). He quickly asked my sis not to write about it. Hahaha. Scaredy cat.

So yes, it must be too much extensive digging underground that has caused drainage systems to be obstructed, and thus floods occur in Singapore. I don’t think it’s too much rain. I believe such rain levels have happened before in Singapore but it was okay then.

In the quest for an efficient transport system, Singapore may have inevitably drowned itself.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wendy chui
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 00:48:32

    HAHAHAHA! SO FUNNY! Sarah abusing her authority, eh? LOL!!!

    Reply

  2. bookjunkie
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 01:49:25

    This is so interesting…..definitely a new angle…love it!!

    Reply

    • Esther Chang
      Jul 24, 2010 @ 11:17:33

      Hi, Thanks for commenting! It was just observations that resulted in an intelligent guess about the reason why. Ha. May I know how did you find my blog?

      Esther

      Reply

Leave a comment